Keep Listening – Evaluation

For me, this project has been excellent. It has allowed me to use all my skills. I have been able to create drawings and animations, and also been able to get involved with the technical side of things. Both of which is highly valuable for my future career.

Through out the whole of university, I have always had problems balancing the creative and technical side of the course. However with this project I feel I have balanced it well. I started off will the bulk of the technical side, and then once created, I began to give the information an identity.

I wanted to create a world in which the user is encapsulated. I wanted to create a site that is easy to use, fun, and educational. When I first started out with this project, I found that everything was far too factual. I then learnt that sometimes its best to give less information to the user, in the hope that they will A. take it in, and B. not get tired and move on.

Although I was restricted by the amount of animations (due to flash running slow) I feel that the animations have really helped liven up the work. It is much more entertaining, and keeps viewers looking for much longer when there is something moving, which in turn means there are more likely to learn.

By the user interacting with the ear diagram, and hearing test, I feel that it further enforces information on hearing. You can learn a great deal from static text, however when you have to figure something out, it takes you out of your comfort zone. By doing this, it captivates the user more, which in turn means they will learn more.

I have also tried to make it as user friendly as possible. I love working with flash, however there are many problems with it, such as loading times and navigation. I have tried to accomplish this by embedding the flash files into separate html files, therefore loading time is decreased, and it enables the use the forward and back buttons. It also means that you cannot resize the flash file. If someone were to, it the flash fire would start to distort, therefore making the text unreadable.

The only problem I’m finding is the size of the flash file. I did not really build it to suit every computer, as I wanted as big canvas to work with. It is possible to create a smaller version, however the larger screen sizes gives a much greater impact.

Overall I feel that I have learn a lot about website building, how the user interacts with a computer and how to keep the viewer entertained.

Leave a Reply

